Chicken Pot Pie

This is the chicken pot pie recipe I’ve been searching for all of my life. Flashback to my childhood. Hot, humid summer days. We practically lived in the pool and when we came home for dinner my mom would have hot savory chicken pot pie fresh out of the oven. It was just the frozen kind from Costco, but it was our favorite. I’m talking eat the whole pan and lick it clean kind of favorite. Fast-forward a few years and Costco doesn’t carry it anymore. Whichever brand made it had gone out of business. All of us kids were up in arms – we begged my mom to make it over and over again, but they just didn’t carry it anymore.

Years later I’m in my 20’s and me and my siblings still talk about how delicious that pot pie was; nothing could compare. Then one day, a summer miracle happened! The stars aligned and heaven smiled down upon us. My mother, in all her wisdom, found and altered a recipe to make it taste just like the glorious pot pie of our childhood. Can I talk it up enough? I don’t know if it’s all the memories that go with the taste or if it’s really just that good! (Although, I do know that I associate good memories more often with taste than smell). Here it is:

ChickenPotPie1

Chicken Pot Pie

  • 1 c. onions, chopped
  • 1 c. carrots, sliced
  • 1 c. frozen peas
  • 1/2 c. butter
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • 2 c. chicken broth
  • 1 c. half & half cream
  • 4 c. chicken, cooked and diced
  • 2 Tbs. chicken base
  • Pie Crust

Preheat oven to 350 F. Saute first 3 ingredients in butter for 10 minutes or until nearly cooked. Add flour to vegetables. Stir in broth and cream, stirring until it boils and is slightly thickened. Remove from heat and add chicken and base.

In a 9×11 baking dish shape the bottom pie crust to fit and then cook for about 6-8 minutes. Pour filling on top of cooked crust and cover with more crust on top. Bake for 20 minutes or until pie is heated through and top crust is done.

One response

Leave a Reply

